SSU hold Pirates to draw in high-tempo season finale

Orlando Pirates were forced to share the spoils 1-1 with SuperSport United in their last game of the DStv Premiership season at the Orlando Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Orlando Pirates started off the match with high intensity and kept SuperSport United in their own half for the majority of the first half.

In the 15th minute, Tshegofatso Mabasa had a chance to open the scoring but he couldn’t get on the end of a low cross that was brought into the box by Deon Hotto.

Relebohile Mofokeng also tried to create an opportunity with a similar cut back with Monnapule Saleng waiting in the penalty area, but it was also not enough to score. I

t was one-way traffic as SuperSport United continued to defend an aggressive Buccaneers side.

Before the end of the first half, Mabasa made the most of a pass he received from Saleng who selflessly teed him up when he was through on goal in the 41st minute.

 With a powerful finish, Pirates went into the break a goal ahead.

SuperSport United came more alive in the second half and eventually grabbed the equaliser through Gape Moralo in the 63rd minute.

It was a well executed team effort as Bradley Grobler won possession and passed to Shandre Campbell who provided the assist.

Matsantsantsa, now with renewed energy, caused more problems for the hosts and almost got the lead but a bad first touch from Terrence Dzvukamanja who was in on goal made sure that Sipho Chaine got a chance to make a save.

With three minutes of normal time left, Kabelo Dlamini went for the spectacular with a powerful shot outside the box.

The strike forced an impressive save from Ricardo Goss and the teams shared the spoils in Soweto.

Orlando Pirates (1) 0 (Mabasa 41’)

SuperSport United (0) 1 (Moralo 63’)

Orlando Pirates: S. Chaine, T. Monnaye, O. Ndah, T. Sesane, D. Hotto, M. Makhaula (S. Baloni 75’), T. Mbatha, M. Saleng (I. Maela 82’), P. Maswanganyi (K. Dlamini 75’), R. Mofokeng, T. Mabasa

SuperSport United: R. Goss, O. Bhasera (A. Baliti 46’), B. Baloyi, T. Hlatshwayo, G. Lungu, S. Ndlovu, S. Campbell, G. Margeman, L. Lakay (G. Moralo 46’), S. Magidigidi (B. Grobler 46’), T. Dzvukamanja (E. Ighodaro 78’)