Baroka win Limpopo derby

Baroka FC beat derby rivals Black Leopards 2-1 at the Peter Mokaba Stadium on Wednesday to move to the top of the PSL playoff log.

Bakgaga are the first to claim a victory in the three-team tournament and are placed top with four points from two matches, having also drawn 2-2 away to Stellenbosch FC last week.

The Cape side are second with two points, while Lidoda Duvha bring up the rear with one point from their two outings.

Baroka made all of the early running and deservedly went ahead in the 11th minute when Victor Letsoalo put the ball into an unguarded net.

It was a controversial goal as Leopards goalkeeper Rotshidzwa Muleka was knocked out cold in a collision with Baroka’s Sipho Moeti, who was able to recover the loose ball and tee up Letsoalo to score.

Muleka received lengthy treatment on the field before being stretchered off and replaced by former Kaizer Chiefs and Moroka Swallows goalkeeper Aubrey Mathibe.

Baroka doubled their lead a few minutes before halftime, with Letsoalo claiming his second by getting on the end of a fine cross from right fullback Matome Kgoetyane and beating Mathibe at his near post with a glancing header.

Leopards went up a couple of gears in the second half and midway through the stanza they pulled a goal back, with Baroka goalkeeper Oscarine Masuluke committing a howler of a mistake to allow substitute Mziwokuthula Zimu a tap-in.

Zimu almost levelled the game on 74 minutes, getting on the end of a cross from the right flank to direct a header beyond the reach of Masuluke, only to see the ball rebound off the far post.

Lidoda Duvha continued to push in the dying minutes, with Mwape Musonda forcing Masuluke into a fine one-handed save, but they were unable to force an equaliser.

Baroka FC (2) 2 (Letsoalo 11’ 41’)

Black Leopards (0) 1 (Zimu 68’)

Baroka: Masuluke, Kgoetyane, Mahashe, Shaku, Masenamela, Matloga, Munetsi, Mdatsane (Mapheto 79’), Ndlovu (Garcia 46’), Moeti (Zikalala 68’), Letsoalo

Leopards: Muleka (Mathibe 19’), Munyai, Munganga, Ndou, Mabotja, Mkhulise (Zimu 55’), Abubakar, Nange, Mahangwahaya (Maphangule 75’), Musonda, Ntshangase