Super-sub Dion fires Gallants to Nedbank semis

Marumo Gallants secured a 1-0 win over their Limpopo rivals, Baroka FC in the Nedbank Cup quarterfinal match at the Peter Mokaba Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Therefore, Bahlabane Ba Ntwa became the second team to advance to the semifinals after Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila, while Bakgaga Ba Mphahlele bowed out of the South African FA Cup.

Bahlabane Ba Ntwa dominated the match from the start with most of their attacks coming via the right flank through former Orlando Pirates wide players Mpho Mvelase and Joseph Molangoane.

Mvelase was afforded space and time to deliver a low cross for Lerato Lamola, who was denied by goalkeeper Elvis Chipezeze at the near post with the Bakgaga Ba Mphahlele's defence exposed.

Gallants continued to launch attacks and they created another good chance when Molangoane played a lovely cross for Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo, but Chipezeze came out to make a smart save.

The score was 0-0 during the halftime break with Gallants having dominated the first half without scoring.

Baroka came out rejuvenated following their halftime team talk with coach Kgoloko Thobejane, but coach Dan Malesela's men were not prepared to sit back and defend.

Sede Dion was unlucky to break the deadlock when he hit the woodwork with a header after the Bakgaga Ba Mphahlele's defence was caught ball watching and this served as a wake-up call for the visitors.

Evidence Makgopa delivered two top-quality crosses which found an unmarked Sipho Maluleke, who somehow failed to head the ball home from close range on both occasions.

Baroka were left to rue these two missed chances when Dion headed home Monde Mphambaniso's exquisite cross as the two substitutes combined to hand Gallants a 1-0 lead with 10 minutes left.

The goal sealed Gallants' well-deserved 1-0 win over Baroka as they grabbed the bragging rights of the Limpopo Derby - progressing to the semifinals in the process.

Gallants 1 (Dion 80')

Baroka 0

Gallants: Ndlovu, Nkili, Mvelase, Mabotja, Nonyane, Timm, Otladisa, Kumalo (Mphambaniso 40'), Ndlondlo (Gumede 90'+2), Molangoane, Lamola (Dion 46').

Baroka: Chipezeze, Mphahlele (Mbulu 90'), Makume, Sibiya, Kgositsile (Makgopa 46'), Bobete, Mehlape (Goldstone 22'), Masiya (Chauke 90'+1), Maluleka, Bombi (Gebhardt 46'), Ndlovu.