Maswanganyi and Williams dominate 2023/24 PSL Awards

Patrick Maswanganyi © Gallo Images

Orlando Pirates midfielder Patrick Maswanganyi and Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Ronwen Williams were the standout winners at the 2023/24 PSL Awards held on Sunday evening.

Maswanganyi's exceptional performance earned him the DStv Premiership Players’ Player of the Season, DStv Premiership Midfielder of the Season, and Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament awards. Williams was honoured as the PSL Footballer of the Season and took home the DStv Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season award.

Orlando Pirates' rising star Relebohile Mofokeng also made his mark, winning both the DStv Premiership Young Player of the Season and the Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player of the Tournament awards.

Mamelodi Sundowns' duo, Rhulani Mokwena and Grant Kekana, were awarded the DStv Premiership Coach of the Season and Defender of the Season titles, respectively. Meanwhile, Tshegofatso Mabasa and Thabiso Lebitso of Orlando Pirates won the DStv Premiership Top Goal Scorer and Goal of the Season awards.

Devin Titus of Stellenbosch FC earned the Carling Knockout Player of the Tournament award, while Orlando Pirates goalkeeper Sipho Chaine received the MTN8 Last Man Standing award.

Prince Nxumalo of JDR Stars was recognised as the Motsepe Foundation Championship Top Goal Scorer. In the DStv Diski Challenge categories, Ntando Nkosi of Mamelodi Sundowns was named the Player of the Season, while Thabang Mahlangu of SuperSport United was the Top Goal Scorer.

In the match officials’ categories, Sikhumbuzo Gasa and Romario Phiri won the Assistant Referee and Referee of the Season awards, respectively.