Mabasa, Mtshali And Mokwena close off 2023/24 season with DSTV Premiership monthly gongs

Tshegofatso Mabasa has capped off an impressive season by winning his first DStv Premiership Player of the Month award for his performances with Orlando Pirates in May, while Rulani Mokwena of Mamelodi Sundowns has been rewarded with the DStv Premiership Coach of the Month award, for the third time this season.

In the Buccaneers' five matches in May, Mabasa led the domestic league with his five goals including one in the final day, which secured a place in the CAF Champions League for his club, narrowly ahead of Stellenbosch FC on goal difference. His goals in May also saw the formidable Mabasa win the league's top goal scorer award, which was also secured on the last day of the season ahead of his nearest rival. He is the second Pirates player to win a monthly individual award this season, after Thabiso Lebitso.

Mabasa beat Cape Town City's Jaedin Rhodes, Oswin Appollis of Polokwane City and Sanele Barns from Richards Bay to the May award.

During the last month of league football this May, Mokwena oversaw four wins, two draws and a defeat from their seven matches, a period in which Sundowns were unstoppable until the slip up to suffer their first defeat of the season to Cape Town City on the last day of the season. During this period, Sundowns scored 10 goals, and only conceded three. With his May success, Mokwena has won the award for the third time this season, having previously won it in August and April.

Mokwena beat Cape Town City's coach Eric Tinkler to the award, with the Citizens also having had a good month and getting the big scalp away to Sundowns.

Moroka Swallows' midfielder Lindokuhle Mtshali, has won the last DStv Premiership Goal of the Month award for the season, as he took home the prize for May. Mtshali showed great technique in executing his goal from the edge of the 18-yard area in Swallows win over Stellenbosch FC.

All the three winners will each receive R7, 000 from league sponsors, DStv, for their accolades.

Judges for April:

Nkareng Matshe (Convenor Sowetan), Ofhani Munyai (Far Post), Vusiwe Ngcobo (SABC Sport), Daniel Mothowagae (City Press), Clyde Tlou (