Cosmos beat AmaTuks 1-0

An early goal from Charlton Mashumba helped Jomo Cosmos beat University of Pretoria 1-0 in an Absa Premiership clash played at the Olen Park in Potchefstroom on Sunday afternoon.

The victory took Ezenkosi up to 14th on the Absa Premiership standings, while AmaTuks dropped down to position 15 on the league table.

The home side began the match brightly and they did grabbed an early lead eight minutes into the game when Charlton Mashumba scored from close range to make it 1-0 to Cosmos.

AmaTuks then pressed for the equalising goal and in the 21st minute Cosmos goalkeeper Sherwyn Naicker fumbled the ball, but he did well to recover before the opposition could pounce.

Ezenkosi were dealt a major blow six minutes later when goalscorer Mashumba had to be replaced after sustaining an injury. He was replaced Ivorian striker Brice Aka.

A good cross was played into the Cosmos box by AmaTuks forward Thabo Mnyamane in the 35th minute, and Ezenkosi keeper Naicker caught the ball with ease.

Lennox Bacela had a chance to equalise, but Cosmos defender Sipho Mngomezulu and his teammate Naicker combined to deny the Tuks striker eight minutes before halftime.

AmaTuks head coach Shaun Bartlett made a tactical change at the beginning of the second-half introducing left-back Junior Sibande for winger Thabo Nemukondeni.

Mnyamane run onto Bacela's cross from a free-kick and the former unleashed a low shot which was blocked inside the Cosmos box in the 56th minute.

Tuks striker Atusaye Nyondo received the ball inside the Ezenkosi box six minutes later and he forced Naicker into a low save as the visitors searched for the equalising goal.

In the 72nd minute, Mnyamane chipped the ball into the Cosmos box for his Tuks teammate, but former SuperSport United keeper Naicker came out to make an easy save.

The shot-stopper then produced a great save to deny Getaneh Kedebe a late equaliser with ten minutes left on the clock to ensure that Cosmos walked away 1-0 winners on the day.

Cosmos (1) 1 (Mashumba 8')

AmaTuks (0) 0

Cosmos: Naicker, Mngomezulu, Nsabiyumva, Zulu, Jampies, Monare, Mukamba, Mntambo (Macuphu 68'), Khumalo, Nomandela (Madonsela 84'), Mashumba (Aka 27').

AmaTuks: Coetsee, Mwedihanga, Mthethwa, Ngubane, Zwane, Maruping (Kedebe 69'), Nemukondeni (Sibande 45'), Mnyamane, Ntombayithethi, Chikohwa (Bacela 33'), Nyondo.