Mayambela leads Chippa demolition of AmaTuks

Goals from Mark Mayambela, Eric Chipeta, Nkosinathi Mthiyane and Lerato Manzine gave Chippa United a fine 4-0 win over 10-man University of Pretoria in an Absa Premiership game at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

Ethiopian international forward Getaneh Kebede, formerly of Bidvest Wits, got the first chance at goal, but he missed to the left of the target after 13 minutes.

The game ebbed and flowed for a large portion of the first half with very little quality goal scoring opportunities created from either side.

It took until 31 minutes for the next real chance at goal when Chippa’s Rhulani Manzini fired in a shot, but Washington Arubi had no problem making the save.

But just two minutes later Chippa found the opener through Mark Mayambela. Following a Rhulani Manzini delivery, Mayambela headed home to give Chippa a 1-0 lead.

Six minutes into the second half and some good combination play saw Chippa carve their way through the AmaTuks defence, but Edward Manqele put the shot wide of goal

Then in the space of a minute both Khethukuthula Zwane and Thabiso Nkoana had shots on goal at the other end for AmaTuks.

AmaTuks were dealt a serious blow after Vukile Mnqibisa was sent for an early shower. After a foul involving Erick Chipeta and Mngqibisa, the Tuks player retaliated and was shown a red card for a second bookable offence.

Eric Chipeta makes no mistake from the penalty spot to make it 2-0 after a foul by goalkeeper Washington Arubi on Nkosinathi Mthiyane.

Then Nkosinathi Mthiyane scores a headed goal to hand Chippa United a 3-0 lead with the goal assist coming from Kuduku Maleasenya.

With Chippa running riot, substitute Lerato Manzini netted a fourth gal after an assist by the impressive Mark Mayambela.

Chippa United (1) 4 (Mayambela 33’ Chipeta 78’pen Mthiyane 81’ Manzine 86’)

University of Pretoria 0

Red card: Mnqibisa 68’


Chippa United: Masiko, Okwuosa, Thopola, Zuke (Macheke 55’), Chipeta, Sali, Maleasenya, Mthiyane, Mayambela, R Manzini (L Manzine 41’), Manqele (Twala 63’)

AmaTuks: Arubi, Mwedihanga, Jaure, Mngqibisa, Sibande, Nkoana, Ketjijere, Ntombayithethi (Mnyamane 58’), Zwane (Dlamini 74’), Nyondo, Kebede (Bacela 58’)