Champions and runners-up clash in MDC opener

Defending champions Mamelodi Sundowns will officially kick off season 4 of the MultiChoice Diski Challenge (PSL Reserve League) in a humdinger of a tie, against the team they pipped to the title last year, Bloemfontein Celtic.

Mamelodi Sundowns and Bloemfontein Celtic are two of the eight clubs participating in the first festival of the new season in a new venue; the Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium in Clermont, west of Durban on the weekend of 9-10 September 2017. Completing the festival line up is the KZN-based trio of Lamontville Golden Arrows, AmaZulu and Maritzburg United, Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates and Free State Stars.

The fixture list and results will be posted on the official Diski Challenge social media platforms, #Asidlali on Facebook and Twitter.

Winners of the Diski Challenge go on a developmental international tour comprising of friendly matches against reserve sides from other leagues and receive training from some of the best youth coaches in the world. The Netherlands has been the destination of choice for the last three seasons. The 2017/18 champions will go to a new destination, which will be announced at a later stage.

A lucky fan will also accompany the winning team on the international tour. Fans attending the festivals (via ticket draw) and watching on TV (via SMS line) will go into a lucky draw at the end of each festival to win a grocery voucher. The grocery voucher winners from all festivals will then go into a final draw at the end of the season to win the trip.

As it has been in the past three season of the Diski Challenge, entry into all matches is free but fans will need to have tickets to gain entry into the stadium. Tickets for the Clermont festival will be available at the stadium’s ticket office on Thursday and Friday between 2 and 5pm. Fans will need to produce an ID document to receive match day tickets. Only two tickets per person.

All Diski Challenge matches are broadcast live on SuperSport 4 (DStv channel 204) and SuperSport 10 (DStv channel 210) and on community TV channels available on DStv.