Ajax secure narrow win vs Highlands

Mark Mayambela scored the only goal of the game as Ajax Cape Town secured a narrow 1-0 win over Highlands Park in an Absa Premiership relegation battle at Cape Town Stadium on Wednesday evening.

Victory moving the Cape side up to 11th spot while Highlands remain at the foot of the table. 

The Urban Warriors probed early on and were rewarded after nine minutes as Mayambela finished off a superb team goal.

Prince Nxumalo with the decisive ball in behind the Lions of the North defence; Mayambela with the coolest of finishes - chipping the ball over the onrushing Tapuwa Kapini.

The hosts continued to move forward in attack and went close to doubling their lead in the 18th minute. Mayambela the instigator once more as he burst into the area - his cross just out of Thabos Mosadi's reach.

Highlands Park squandered a glorious chance to pull level before the break with Brandon Theron guiding his header attempt wide with the goal at his mercy. The hosts with a slender lead at half-time.

The Lions of the North continued where they left off following the interval, but struggled to break down the hosts defence as Thabo Mosadi went within inches of easing pressure on the hosts. The winger unlucky to see his volley attempt canon off the crossbar in the 64th minute.

Gordon Igesund's troops dominated the latter exchanges as they went in search of the sucker punch and should have found the back of the next with six minutes of regulation time remaining, but like Theron in the first stanza, Collins Mbesuma nodded over from close range.

Ajax Cape Town sat back as they firmly shut up shop in the final minutes, surviving a few nervy moments as they secured all three points to move five points clear of the bottom of the table.

Ajax Cape Town (1) 1 (Mayambela 9')

Highlands Park (0) 0

Ajax Cape Town: February' Lebusa, Coetzee, Pietersen, Isaacs - Graham, Kabwe (Lartey 78') - Mayambela, Mzwakali (Mokoena 59'), Mosadi - Nxumalo (Paulse 61')

Highlands Park: Kapini; Ngalo, Oluwafemi, Katjiukua, Nhlapo - Mvala, Moriri, Mbatha (Mbesuma 78') - Theron, Mashumba (Fikru 50'), Shalulile (Cale 59')