Chippa strike late to pip Baroka

Chippa United defeated Baroka FC 2-1 at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Tuesday in their opening Absa Premiership match of 2017.

Maboke Matlakala scored the opening goal in favour of Bakgaga, but the Chilli Boys hit back through Thamsanqa Sangweni and then found a late winner though Rhulani Manzini.

The result sees the Eastern Cape side rise to eighth place on the log, now with 19 points from 15 matches. The Limpopo side, meanwhile, remain at the foot of the table with 12 points from 16 matches.

Chippa started brightly, but found themselves a goal down in the 13th minute when Khunadi Nkoana saw his shot well saved by Daniel Akpeyi, only for Maboke Matlakala to turn home the rebound and make it 1-0 to the visitors.

The Chilli Boys suffered a further blow ten minutes before the break when they were forced into a substitution, with veteran striker Katlego Mashego coming off the bench to replace the injured Mbulelo Wambi.

Mashego almost made an immediate impact with his first sight of goal, sending a shot just wide of the Baroka posts, but on the brink of halftime Chippa were able to find an equaliser.

Diamond Thopola provided the assist for midfielder Thamsanqa Sangweni, whose right footed shot beat goalkeeper Avhashona Tshinuna to leave the game at 1-1 heading into the interval.

The second half saw relatively few chances created at either end, and the game looked set to fizzle out for a tame draw. However, in injury time, Rhulani Manzini struck with a superb effort from a free kick to see Chippa claim a 2-1 victory.

Chippa will next be in league action in a week’s time when they host Mamelodi Sundowns, while Baroka will welcome Platinum Stars next Wednesday.

Chippa United (1) 2 (Sangweni 44’, Manzini 90+)

Baroka FC (1) 1 (Matlakala 13’)


Chippa United: Akpeyi, Thopola, Kama, Mdaki, Mako, Sangweni, Zuku, Masuku (Bereng 86’), Wambi (Mashego 36’), Mbenyane (Mokondelela 62’), Manzini

Baroka FC: Tshinuna, Ravhuhali, Kunene (Matloga 67’), Zikalala, Garcia, Mapheto, Matlakala, Maleka (Munetsi 46’), Mothupa, Nkoana (Moremi 85’), Mahashe