Red-hot Ndoro fires Bucs past Chippa

Orlando Pirates overcame Chippa United 1-0 in an Absa Premiership game played at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Tuesday night.

The victory took Bucs to position five on the league standings, while Chilli Boys remain tenth on the table.

The home side bossed the proceedings in the opening stages of the game - passing the ball around with ease, while looking to penetrate the Pirates defence.

However, the visitors broke the deadlock in the 21st minute through their in-form striker Tendai Ndoro following a good move by the Buccaneers.

Luvuyo Memela picked out Ndoro with a square ball from the left and the Zimbabwean striker placed the shot with ease to make it 1-0 to Pirates.

Chill Boys then pressed the Buccaneers for the equalising goal and in the 23rd minute Thembinkosi Lorch was denied by Pirates goalkeeper Jackson Mabokgwane.

Mabokgwane produced a fantastic save to deny Chippa midfielder Lorch again ten minutes later to ensure that the first-half ended with Pirates leading 1-0.

The Buccaneers nearly doubled their lead two minutes into the second-half, but Chippa shot-stopper Daniel Akpeyi made a good save to stop Thabo Rakhale's shot.

But the Chilli Boys were dominating possession which saw Katlego Mashego forcing Mabokgwane into a decent save on the hour-mark.

Before the shot-stopper Mabokgwane fumbled Chippa defender Diamond Thopola's shot and the fortunately for Pirates the ball hit the upright.

At the other end in the 70th minute, Rakhale set up Makola, who found himself in a one-on-one situation with Akpeyi, but the keeper made a great save.

Nevertheless, Mabokgwane proved to be the hero for Pirates as he made two brilliant saves in stoppage time to help his side win 1-0 in Port Elizabeth.

Chippa United 0

Orlando Pirates (1) 1 (Ndoro 21')


Chippa XIAkpeyi, Thopola, Kama, Okwuosa, Mako, Ngubane (Sali 83'), Zuke, Mbenyane, Lorch, Mncube (Zulu 26'), Mashego

Orlando Pirates XI: Mabokgwane, Sikhakhane, Chabalala, Gyimah, Phungwayo, Sarr, Manyisa, Makola, Memela (Qalinge 67'), Rakhale (Morrison 78'), Ndoro (Gabuza 73')