Jomo Cosmos lose eighth away game in a row

Jomo Cosmos suffered an eighth successive away defeat in the Absa Premiership when they were beaten 1-0 by Platinum Stars at Moruleng Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Mduduzi Nyanda scored the only goal of the game early on, taking Dikwena to a fourth win from a run of six unbeaten league matches, though they remain in fifth place on the log standings.

Ezenkosi also maintain their position of 14th, but will be disappointed at missing out on the chance to put further distance between themselves and the relegation zone.

Stars claimed the lead in the ninth minute with their first notable attack: Solomon Mathe set up Mduduzi Nyanda, who beat Sherwyn Naicker with a right-footed effort to put the home side into the ascendancy.

Cosmos looked for a quick reply through Charlton Mashumba, who had a couple of shots on target within the next 10 minutes, but on both occasions Stars goalkeeper Mbongeni Mzimela was well placed to make a save.

The remainder of the half saw the teams effectively cancel each other out, with few chances at either end to alter the score line. The start of the second half brought a change from each side, with Stars bringing on Robert Ng’ambi to give them more fluency in attack, while Cosmos introduced Conrad Madolo for similar reasons.

The visitors had the first chances of the second stanza, with Linda Mntambo shooting wide in the 52nd minute, while Mxolisi Machupu was denied by Mzimela a short while later. On 75 minutes Mzimela was in action again, keeping out an effort from Frederick Nsabiyumva as Cosmos continued to press for an equaliser.

However, it was not to be for Jomo Sono’s side, who will next be in action on February 27 when they host SuperSport United, while Stars are away to Golden Arrows the next day.

Platinum Stars (1) 1 (Nyanda 9’)

Jomo Cosmos 0

Stars: Mzimela, Mere, Sithole, Nhlapo, Zulu, Msomi (Ng’ambi 46’), Mathe, Madubanya, Tshabalala (Zongo 63’), Nyanda (De Jong 71’), Ntuli

Cosmos: Naicker, Nsabiyumva, Mthembu, Khumalo (Madolo 46’), Machupu, Lingwati, Jampies (M Sono 71’), Mntambo, Maluleke (Madonsela 81’), Mashumba, Makobela