Ntanga gives Celtic first victory

Vuyani Ntanga gave Bloemfontein Celtic their first Absa Premiership victory this season as they beat Orlando Pirates 1-0 on Wednesday night at the Free State Stadium.

Pirates had come into this match with confidence hoping to continue where they left off in their last league encounter that saw them beat Chippa United 4-1, but this was not the case in Free State.

It was Bloemfontein Celtic that started the match with the attack as Lyle Lakay and South Africa Under 23 star Dumisani Zuma showed some sense of urgency.

In the 29th minute Geoffrey Massa delivered a beautiful strike, but Siyabonga Mpontshane made a good save to deny Celtic the lead.

In the 40th minutes Oupa Manyisa also took a shot in an attempt to give Bucs a goal going into the first half, but Bongani Mpandle was in good position to deny him.

In the second half both teams tried to search for a break, but this caused some tension which saw some free-kicks taking place.

Pirates were the first to make a substitution as Sifiso Myeni replaced Mpho Makola in the 57 minute.

After all the effort of knocking, Celtic finally found their break as Vuyani Ntanga netted a great goal with a header after Lantshene Phalane had provided the assist, 1-0.

In the dying minutes of the match Pirates received a corner kick, but nothing progressive was done with it as Mpandle cleared it with a punch after Myeni had taken it.

Although Pirates tried to come back the Celtic defence was solid and this resulted in them clinching their first victory of the season.

Bloemfontein Celtic (0) 1 (Ntanga 75')

Orlando Pirates (0) 0


Bloemfontein Celtic: Bongani Mpandle, Wandisile Letlabika, Thabang Matuka, Tshepo Mbhazima Rikhotso, Wade Jooste, Lyle Lakay(Alfred Ndengane 76’), Dumisani Zuma ( Musa Nyatama 63’), Vusi Shikweni, Vuyani Ntanga, Lantshene Phalane, Geofrey Massa (Lerato Lamola 62’)

Orlando Pirates: Siyabonga Mpontshane, Siyabonga Sangweni, Ayanda Gcaba, Rooi Mahamutsa, Happy Jele, Issa Sarr (Gift Motupa 78’), Thabo Rakhale, Mpho Makola (Sifiso Myeni 57’), Oupa Manyisa, Tendai Ndoro (Lehlohonolo Majoro 65’), Kermit Erasmus