Dikwena seal top eight finish

Platinum Stars sealed a top eight place at the end of the Absa Premiership season following a comfortable 3-0 victory over Ajax Cape Town at the Royal Bafokeng Sports Palace on Saturday.

Goals from Mogakolodi Ngele, Robert Ng’ambi and Mduduzi Nyanda sealed the win for Stars, which sees them leapfrog AmaZulu and end the campaign in eighth place.

Ajax were never in the game and their disappointing campaign closed with a 13th defeat and an 12th-place finish.

Stars coach Allan Freese, desperate for the win that allows the club to defend their MTN8 title next season, picked a strong side for the clash.

Suspension robbed Ajax of tall striker Eleazar Rodgers, which meant teenage star Tashreeq Morris entered the game as the lone striker.

Dikwena had a number of chances through Ng’ambi and Mduduzi Nyanda before they did open the scoring as the excellent Ngele provided a neat finish on 17 minutes.

It was all Stars, who did not allow Ajax a single shot on target in the first half, and it was no surprise when the North West side doubled their advantage.

Nyanda was the creator as he supplied the ball to Malawian international Ng’ambi to score his 12th of the season in all competitions, the most for Stars this season.

The rampant home side got their third when Nyanda blasted home a free-kick 13 minutes from time after Nazeer Allie had felled Mahlatse Makudubela in the area.

Stars can be proud of their efforts in a campaign in which they tripled their trophy haul having won the MTN8 and Telkom Knockout competitions before the New Year, and have now added a top eight place in the league.

It was a desperately disappointing end to the season for Ajax, who have been poor travellers throughout but battled to compete in just about every area of the pitch.

Platinum Stars (2) 3 (Ngele 17’, Ng’ambi 38’, Nyanda 77’)

Ajax Cape Town 0

Stars: Mpontshane, Mere, Sithole, Semenya, Mpeta, Tshabalala (Makudubela 72’), Sarr, Ng'ambi (Msomi 52’), Nyanda, Ngele, S Mthembu

Ajax: Petersen, Allie, Mobara (Van de Laak 81’), Isaacs, Lebusa, Davids, Lolo, Scott, Morris, Alexander (Mzwakali 46’), Dolly (Sithole 68’)