AmaZulu draw 1-1 with Polokwane City

Polokwane City fought back from a goal down to draw 1-1 with AmaZulu in an Absa Premiership match at the old Peter Mokaba Stadium on Wednesday evening.

Usuthu took the lead in the first half through Ayanda Dlamini, but Rise and Shine were able to peg their visitors back in the second stanza through Siphesihle Nzimande to earn a share of the spoils.

After a run of five successive losses at the start of the season, City have now gone four matches unbeaten and picked up an impressive eight points in that sequence.

Usuthu, meanwhile, are without a win since September, though this draw at least ends a two-game losing streak in the league.

Siphesihle Nzimande had the first shot in anger, but the Polokwane striker pulled his eighth-minute effort wide of AmaZulu’s goal posts.

Just past the quarter hour mark it was the home side who threatened the opening goal again, with Vukile Mngqibisa shooting on target from long range, though AmaZulu goalkeeper Aubrey Mathibe was able to make a comfortable save.

City continued to look the likelier scorers, but Usuthu soon found their footing in the game and opened the scoring in the 34th minute with their first genuine opening. Striker Ayanda Dlamini finished off the chance with his right foot to make it 1-0 to the Durban side.

Polokwane made a couple of positive changes early in the second half, introducing Esau Kanyenda and Kagiso Senamela off the bench, but it was Usuthu’s Lunga Zondi who had the next attempt at goal, shooting just wide on the hour mark.

Yet City’s positive intent was rewarded with an equaliser on 63 minutes. Kabelo Lichaba provided the assist for Nzimande, who finished off the chance with his right foot to make it 1-1.

That goal proved to be the last significant act of the match, with the sides eventually content to settle for a draw that was a fair reflection of proceedings.

Polokwane City (0) 1 (Nzimande 63’)

AmaZulu (1) 1 (A. Dlamini 34’)

Polokwane: Marumo, Molekwane, Mngqibisa, Tshilo, Lichaba, Motsiane (Senamela 59’), Moyana, Hlongwa (Kanyenda 55’), Mdluli, Nzimande (Mthimkhulu 83’), Tlolane

AmaZulu: Mathibe, Mvalo, Teyise, Nyadombo, Hlanti, Madondo, G.

Dlamini, Manqana, Mthiyane, Zondi (Ndulula 66’), A. Dlamini (Ngcobo 80’)