Santos win, but still have Play-offs

Santos beat Jomo Cosmos 1-0 at the Athlone Stadium on Saturday afternoon in the final Absa Premiership game of the season.

However, with Ajax losing 3-1 to Black Leopards, Santos failed to move above Lidoda Duvha and thereby finished 15th, meaning they will go into the NFD promotion play-offs.

The only goal of the game came after 46 minutes and was scored by Bheki Shabangu.

The Cape side started brightly, with the first chance falling to Erwin Isaacs, but having received a long ball from Gert Barends, he skewed his shot wide of goal.

Eight minutes later and Siyabonga Nhlapo had a go on goal but his effort from 25-yards out, but the ball was dragged wide of Pa Demba Touray’s goal.

When Ricardo Skippers’ 20th minute cross fell kindly for Jonathan Armogam, the Santos winger looked all set to score, but Thabo Mokgalushi was on hand to clear off the line.

Ten minutes later and Salmaan King tried his luck with a free kick from 40-yards out, but Cosmos keeper Buti Khoza managed to tip the ball over the bar.

Just before the break Santos were close to scoring when Bheki Shabangu lobbed the ball towards the back post where Nasief Morris just failed to reach the ball.

The Peoples’ Team scored just two minutes after the restart when Skippers whipped in a cross which was buried by the head of Shabangu.

With 57 minutes gone King burst down the left wing, his pace taking him into the box, but his shot was way off target.

After that the game went into somewhat of a lull; while Santos tried to find spaces for a second goal, they failed to penetrate the visitors defence.

Cosmos managed to find some good ground down the left wing through the exciting Broderick Burds, but unfortunately for Ezenkosi there was no end product.

With five minutes to go there was another chance for King, but he headed over the bar after Tyren Arendse’s cross, while soon after Riaan Eugene wasted a good chance with a weak shot.

Santos (0) 1 (Shabangu 47’)

Jomo Cosmos (0) 0


Santos: (4-4-2) Touray; Barends, W Arendse, Morris, Skippers; Armogam (Sopio 86‘), T Arendse, Chimodzi, King; Isaacs (S Arendse 83‘), Shabangu (Eugene 79’)

Cosmos: (4-4-2): Khoza; Kwenene, Mokgalushi, Mavasa, Maseko; M Nhlapo, Sono, Tukane, Manzini (M Sono 60‘); S Nhlapo Taongo (Burds 34’)