Top five current players yet to win an Absa Premiership title

Winning the Premier Soccer League (PSL) title is the ultimate goal for any player in the South African top-flight league.

Mamelodi Sundowns trio of Dennis Onyango, Anthony Laffor and Hlompho Kekana are envied by most fellow PSL players.

They have won the most PSL titles (six) a record which they share with Orlando Pirates and SuperSport United legend Daine Klate.

There are some great footballers, who failed to get hold of the coveted trophy during their time in the competition.

Then there are current PSL superstars that are good enough to win the competition, but they are yet to get the chance to lift the trophy aloft.

Here are the top five PSL players, who are still chasing their maiden Absa Premiership title having been active in the competition for at least five seasons:

Siyanda Xulu - Maritzburg United

The 28-year-old has played for Gauteng giants, Kaizer Chiefs and Mamelodi Sundowns - clubs which are considered to be perennial PSL title contenders.

Xulu, who has re-established himself as one of the best centre backs in the country, came close to winning the league trophy with Sundowns during the 2009/10 season.

However, Masandawana narrowly missed out on the trophy by a single point as their Tshwane rivals, SuperSport United were crowned champions.

Xulu has been repeatedly linked with Gauteng giants, Orlando Pirates with his current contract with Maritzburg set to expire at the end of this month.

Ronwen Williams - SuperSport United

The current Bafana Bafana first-choice goalkeeper was promoted to the first team from the club's academy after SuperSport clinched the 2009/10 PSL title.

Williams is an accomplished player having won all cup competitions with Matsatsantsa - three Nedbank Cups, two MTN8 trophies and one Telkom Knockout Cup.

However, the PSL winner's medal is the only accolade missing from the reigning PSL Goalkeeper of the Season's collection.

Williams, who is the new SuperSport captain, will be hoping to lead the Tshwane giants to the Absa Premiership title in the future.

Lebogang Manyama - Kaizer Chiefs

The midfielder-cum-striker has been one of the most consistent PSL players in the last decade having spent one season in Turkey with Konyaspor.

Manyama was very unlucky not to win the league title with Ajax Cape Town during the 2010/11 season as Orlando Pirates beat them to the trophy on the last day of the season.

Since then the Bafana Bafana international has won two Telkom Knockout Cups with his former clubs, SuperSport United and Cape Town City.

Manyama was playing a key role for Chiefs as they pushed for this season's league title before the campaign was suspended indefinitely due to coronavirus pandemic.

Bradley Grobler - SuperSport United

The Bafana Bafana international remains one of the top strikers in the country and he is considered by some as the best finisher in PSL.

Grobler is another player, who has won all cup competitions with SuperSport, but he is still hoping to clinch his maiden Absa Premiership trophy.

The 32-year-old marksman narrowly missed out on the 2010/11 PSL Golden Boot award by two goals and he has been hampered by injuries over the years.

The current season has seen Grobler rediscovered his scoring touch and he will be hoping to inspire Matsatsantsa to the PSL title before he retires.

Thembinkosi Lorch - Orlando Pirates

The highly-rated versatile attacker is one of the most talented players in the PSL, but he is yet to win a major trophy let alone the Absa Premiership title.

Lorch has been a vital player for Pirates in the last two seasons as they finished second in the league behind champions Mamelodi Sundowns on both occasions.

The reigning PSL Footballer of the Year has also helped the Buccaneers finish as runners-up in the Nedbank Cup and Telkom Knockout Cup.

Lorch is reportedly on the radar of European clubs and he will be keen to help Pirates clinch the Absa Premiership title before he leaves the Soweto giants.