Laffor helps Sundowns sink Celtic

Anthony Laffor came off the bench to score the only goal of the game as Mamelodi Sundowns defeated Bloemfontein Celtic 1-0 in an Absa Premiership clash at the Seisa Ramabodu Stadium in Bloemfontein on Wednesday night.

Sundowns dominated the entire match, and they should have scored more goals. However, Celtic goalkeeper Patrick Tignyemb made brilliant saves on the night.

The Brazilians played very well in the opening stages of the game. They should have taken the lead four minutes into the game, but Celtic goalkeeper Patrick Tignyemb did well to parry away Sundowns defender Wayne Arendse's header.

Zimbabwean midfielder Khama Billiat found his way into the Phunya Sele Sele box in the 14th minute and forced shot-stopper Tignyemb into a fine save.

Celtic were under pressure as new Sundowns striker Leonardo Castro's powerful long-range effort three minute before the half-hour mark sailed over the goal-posts.

Seven minutes before the half-time break, Billiat combined brilliantly with his Sundowns teammate Tebogo Langerman, before the former placed his effort wide of the attack.

Sundowns winger Keagan Dolly pulled the trigger from range, and his thunderous effort forced the best out of Tignyemb three minutes before the interval.

Fifteen minutes into the second half, Sundowns head coach Pitso Mosimane introduced Anthony Laffor, and pulled out Themba Zwane, who had a quiet night.

Liberian international Laffor made an immediate impact as he hit the back of the net in the 70th minute after receiving a good pass from his captain Ramahlwe Mphahlele.

Celtic nearly responded with a goal with 15 minutes left on the clock, but Ugandan international goalkeeper Denis Onyango parried Celtic midfielder Keegan Buchanan's effort.

The Brazilians managed to hold onto their slender lead and emerged 1-0 winners on the night.

Celtic (0) 0
Sundowns (1) 1 (Laffor 70')

Celtic XI: Tignyemb, Fransman, Phalane, Dube, Bilankulu, Mogapi, Buchanan, Mhango, Ndengane, Lamola, Nyatama

Sundowns XI: Onyango, Arendse, Langerman, Nthethe, Mphahlele, Dolly, Zungu, T. Zwane (Laffor 60'), Kekana, Castro, Billiat.