Vasco da Gama FC
Club Name : CR Vasco Da Gama
Address: Cnr. Bertie Genade & Frans Conradie Drive
Tel. No. : 021 552 9060
Fax No. : 086 628 9769
Email : email -

Honour Roll

Vasco Da Gama Football Club (Vasco) was established in 1980 and has a proud history and tradition.

Vasco were the winners of the 1988 and 1990 SA Amateur Club Championships.

Vasco were crowned Vodacom Second Division Champions in 2003 and promoted to the Coastal First Division.

In the 2003/2004 season Vasco ended 5th and were included in the National First Division, the Mvela league.

Vasco were narrowly beaten in the 2005/2006 PSL promotion playoffs, losing narrowly 1 - 0 to Benoni Premier in the final match.

Vasco Da Gama were crowned National Vodacom Champions in 2008.

Vasco have had the following players represent the team, some of which have played for SA, indoor and outdoor, and who have played in Europe.

Andre Arendse, Shaun Bartlett, Carlos Das Neves, Mario Das Neves, Paulo Das Neves, Thabo Mngomeni, David Nyathi to name a few.

Roberto Santo, Nazeer Allie, and Mfundo Shamana have represented junior SA sides. We also have the honour of having three of our former junior players representing Ajax Cape Town in the African Champions League.

The Club is managed by a strong professional team including:

1. Mario Das Neves (Chairman)

2. Phillip Ribeiro, Eddie Ribeiro, Avelino De Oliveira (Executive)

3. Carlos Das Neves (Head Coach)

4. Kenny Gertse (Team Manager)

5. Gordon Elkana, Alex September (Assistants)

The club structure includes a strong emphasis on youth including U/7, U/9, U11, U13, U 15, U17 and U19 junior sides (total membership of approximately 350). Vasco also have 7 senior amateur teams who currently play in the Cape Town/Tygerberg District (total membership of approximately 150), including Over 35 and Over 40 teams.

Our vision at Vasco Da Gama is to take the club to the top flight of South African Football, namely the PSL and thus give our youth a platform to express the talent that they have shown as juniors